Posted by: WOW | March 19, 2008

Wednesday ‑ Beautiful things

“Jesus was in Bethany at the home of Simon, a man who had leprosy.
During supper, a woman came in with a beautiful jar of expensive perfume.
She broke the seal and poured the perfume over his head.
She anointed Jesus’ feet with it and wiped his feet with her hair.
She broke the seal and poured t
he perfume over his head.
She anointed Jesus’ feet with it and wiped his feet with her hair.
And the house was filled with fragrance.
The fragrance of the oils filled the house.
Some of those at the table were indignant. “Why was this expensive perfume
wasted?” they asked. “She could have sold it for a small fortune and given the money
to the poor!” And they scolded her harshly.

But Jesus replied, “Leave her alone. Why berate her for doing such a good thing to
me? You will always have the poor among you, and you can help them whenever
you want to. But I will not be here with you much longer. She has done what she
could and anointed my body for burial ahead of time. I assure you, wherever the
Good News is preached throughout the world, this woman’s deed will be talked about
in her memory.”
Mark 14:3,9, John 12:3 (NLT, MSG)

A gesture of love so extravagant, so over the top, so extraordinary.
The audacity of it, something so valuable, so irreplaceable, dashed at
Jesus feet ‑ it’s just the sheer ‘all or nothing’ attitude of it all. There’s
no going back; once it’s done it’s done.

So why do I feel uncomfortable?

Is it that I just wouldn’t dare? I don’t dare. I just don’t know if I’m
prepared to take what is precious to me, and dash it at Jesus’ feet.
I’m just not prepared.

Leave a Reply

Categories

