Posted by: WOW | March 19, 2008

Thursday ‑ Uncharted territory

“Jesus said to his disciples: “Dear children, how brief are these moments before I must
go away and leave you! Then, though you search for me, you cannot come to me –
just as I told the Jewish leaders. So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love
each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Your love for one
another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.”
Simon Peter asked, “Lord, where are you going?”
And Jesus replied, “You can’t go with me now, but you will follow me later.”
“But why can’t I come now, Lord?” he asked. “I’m ready to die for you.”
Jesus answered, “Die for me? I tell you the truth, Peter—before the rooster crows
tomorrow morning, you will deny three times that you even know me.
“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. There is more
than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that
I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get
you, so that you will always be with me where I am. And you know the way to where I
am going.”
“No, we don’t know, Lord,” Thomas said. “We have no idea where you are going, so
how can we know the way?”
Jesus told him, “I am the way …”
John 13:33‑14:6 (NLT)

It shouldn’t be this confusing.


Everything is couched in vagueness, all the instructions are cryptic. I
start out one way with confidence and a clear direction in mind, and
always end up lost. Or not so much lost, just always travelling and
never getting any closer. Always journeying and never arriving.

Wouldn’t it have been so much easier if you’d given us a destination?

Leave a Reply

Categories

