Posted by: WOW | March 18, 2008

Tuesday ‑ Destroy this temple

“In the Temple area in Jerusalem, Jesus saw merchants selling cattle, sheep, and
doves for sacrifices; he also saw dealers at tables exchanging foreign money. Jesus
made a whip from some ropes and chased them all out of the Temple. He drove out
the sheep and cattle, scattered the money changers’ coins over the floor, and turned
over their tables. Then, going over to the people who sold doves, he told them, “Get
these things out of here. Stop turning my Father’s house into a marketplace!”
Then his disciples remembered this prophecy from the Scriptures: “Passion for God’s
house will consume me.”
But the Jewish leaders demanded, “What are you doing? If God gave you authority to
do this, show us a miraculous sign to prove it.”
“All right,” Jesus replied. “Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up.”
“What!” they exclaimed. “It has taken fortysix
years to build this Temple, and you can
rebuild it in three days?” But when Jesus said “this temple,” he meant his own body.”
John 2:13‑21 (NLT)

Another time in the temple, Jesus addressed the people…

“Now the time has come for the Son of Man to enter into his glory. I tell you the truth,
unless a kernel of wheat is planted in the soil and dies, it remains alone. But its death
will produce many new kernels—a plentiful harvest of new lives. Those who love their
life in this world will lose it. Those who care nothing for their life in this world will keep
it for eternity. Anyone who wants to be my disciple must follow me, because my
servants must be where I am. And the Father will honour anyone who serves me.”
John 12:23‑25 (NLT)

This isn’t what I expected.

Give me the conquering hero, someone I can fight for, a man I can be
proud to serve. Give me a movement to be part of, a rule to live by, a
cause. Give me a mission, a challenge.

But you ask me to die.

This is not what I expected.

Leave a Reply

Categories

