Posted by: WOW | August 3, 2007

1Life (1 Aug devo) Melisa’s reflection

chrissligh2_800.jpg [Today’s story: A Shining Idol?]

On Wednesday, I met with a group of friends and we happened to talk about old age in Singapore and dying. Anyway, we were discussing the possibilities of staying in a retirement house together when one of them said, “I’d be going to hell, so I want to live comfortably before I leave earth.”

My immediate reply was “But I’m going to heaven! I wouldn’t’ want to go to hell”

And I regret the next thing that happened. Or rather, the lack of it.

Because I didn’t take the opportunity to share the God’s story with her then. I could have gone on about why I’m going to heaven and more about salvation. But I didn’t. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because she is Muslim, maybe it’s because i wasn’t ready to tell my story at that point in time, maybe I didn’t want to turn the conversation into something “serious”.

I don’t’ know. But whatever it is, it’s a lousy excuse!

Today’s verse taken from Matthew 5:14-16 comes as a timely reminder and also as a chiding.

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. 16In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.”

I’m reminded that I’m the light that is trying to hide. I’m worried about shining at times for “blinding darkness” and therein, offend them. I mean, I would like to shine, but not be too glaring – If you know what i mean. But that’s not how i should behave. And I’m glad that today’s devotion made me aware of the missed opportunity.

I pray for the courage to not shy away from opportunities henceforth. Like the sermon on Sunday, I should not wait for a time when I’ m ready. Because the time is now!!

~~ Melisa Loh

Leave a Reply

Categories

